Blogs > School Notes

This is the place to find out all about the achievements and activities of students and alumni of area school districts. Send you education news and photos to and we'll post them!

Tuesday, November 29, 2011

NPHS students selected to 2011-2012 District Chorus Festival

The North Penn School District announced 10 North Penn High School students were selected for the 2011-2012 District Chorus Festival that will be held at Norristown High School from January 26-28, 2012.
Chosen were, Jessica Arnold (soprano), Emily Buehler (alto), Paul Carter (tenor), Stephanie Espie (alto), Kristen Huber (soprano), Thomas Mentzer (tenor), Ian Mix (bass), Thomas Moyer (bass), Jeremy Varner (tenor) and Daniel Ziegler (tenor).

Penn View Christian School Honor Roll

Penn View Christian School Honor Roll

1st Quarter - 2011-12



Jessica Blaney, Sophia Breslin, Madison Buting, Mia Hershberger, Jamie Kolb, Gabrielle Landis, Lauren Ness, Addie Olsen, Molly Welby, Isaac Wilkins


Zachary Kauffman, Jaywon Lee, Megan Swintosky, Nicole Van Handel


Ella Barlick, Colin Bernd, Alexander Cope, Sharon Curtis, Daniel Hackman, Maxwell Howald, Maddison Landis, James Olsen, Natalie Van Handel, Isaac Zehr



Brian Anderson, Ian Anderson, Carsen Begley, Lincoln Bergey, Lindsey Bernd, Victor Desnoyers, Mikayla Frederick, Hannah Hackman, Heidi Hackman, Katie Hahn, Jaden Hunsberger, Christopher Keach, Timothy Kennel, Meredith King, Candace Landis, Isaac Longacre, Harrison Moyer, Abigail Nice, Laura Olsen, Dylan Rush, Everett Seavy, Elysa Stout, McKenzie Swartley, Miranda Walt, Nathan Wong, Jeremy Yoder, Mason Zehr


Abigail Aldrich, Rachel Barth, Rebecca Edenfield, Anna Ford, Josiah Friesen, Susanna Frustino, Kenneth Graham, Elizabeth Haas¸ Hannah Hofmeister, Daphne Hunsinger, Nathan Kerns, Jason Landis, Abigail Roberts, Julianna Rotelle, Matthew Schmidt, Sarah Thalathoti, Christopher Trapp, Elizabeth Wanamaker


Tyler Alderfer, Haley Anderson, Kathrine Anderson, Ali Balmer, Chandler Bergey, Jessica Chung, Deanna Clemens, Abigail Frey, Michael Gunden, Alexis Johnson, Jesse Kolb, Sarah Kratz, Devon Landis, Brooke Leaman, Olyvia Longacre, Halle Putera, Emily Rittenhouse, Talia Santiago, Natalie Schweizerhof, Steven Taylor, Connor Young

Monday, November 7, 2011

Area student lends a hand

Lauren Brown of Blue Bell, is helping to gain key support for Susquehanna University through its student calling program. 

For more than 20 years, the Susquehanna student calling program has raised critical funds for the university. Currently, 25 students participate in the program, which operates for six weeks in the fall and four weeks in the spring. Student participants contact parents and alumni to encourage them to support the university by making a donation. Funds raised are used to support scholarships, laboratory equipment, research, athletics, the library and the arts, among other endeavors. The calling program aims to raise about $125,000 this year; last year student callers raised $132,321.

In addition to contacting parents and alumni, Brown’s responsibilities include updating the contact database and informing supporters of what is happening on campus.

Area student on stage at Susquehanna University

Suzanne Fickenscher, of Telford,  recently  performed in Susquehanna University’s fall musical, “Funny Girl,” presented by the Department of Theatre

Fickenscher, a junior majoring in theatre performance and communications with an emphasis in public relations at Susquehanna, played the part of Mrs. O’Malley and was the production’s assistant publicity coordinator.

A 2009 graduate of Gwynedd-Mercy Academy High School, she is the daughter of Sherri and James Fickenscher.

Wednesday, November 2, 2011

Christopher Dock HS students recognized

Dr. Conrad Swartzentruber, principal of Christopher Dock Mennonite High School, recenlty announced that Dock seniors Rachelle Kratz, Sean Lawrence, Monica Roth, and Lauren Scott have been named Commended Students in the 2012 National Merit Scholarship Program.

“These four students exemplify the scholarship and character of a Christopher Dock Mennonite High School education,” said Dr. Swartzentruber. “Our faculty does an excellent job of preparing students for the demands of college, but also helps them apply what they learn so that they can make good life decisions.”

About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Commended students placed among the top 5 percent of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2012 competition by taking the 2010 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT).

“The young men and women being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” said a spokesperson for NMSC. “These students represent a valuable national resource. Recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope this recognition will broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic excellence.”

Also, three students — Christian Allebach, Nicholas Martin and Madeleine J. Ruth —received Commended Student status in the 2010 program, and in 2009, Justin Yoder was a National Merit Scholarship Finalist, while Ben Roth and Emily Hedrick were named National Merit Commended Students and Tannia Nieto was named a National Merit Honorable Mention scholar. In 2007, Christopher Dock had two National Merit Finalists, Katie Clough and Ben Nelson, as well as a National Merit Commended Student, Corinne Yager.