Blogs > School Notes

This is the place to find out all about the achievements and activities of students and alumni of area school districts. Send you education news and photos to and we'll post them!

Tuesday, May 29, 2012

Lansdale woman headed to Sweden to work on cardiovascular research

Rebekah Wieland of Lansdale,  graduated Magna Cum Laude with High Honors at Mount Holyoke College’s 175th commencement exercises.

Wieland, a Pre-Medical student majored in Biochemistry and minored in Mathematics. Among her many honors, she was a Division III National Scholar Athlete (Newmac Academic All Conference Crew Team), Seven Sisters Scholar Athlete, and Sarah Williston Scholar. Wieland recently won the Grand Prize Poster Competition at the 2012 Annual Meeting of the American Society of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. She was elected to Phi Beta Kappa (the oldest undergraduate honors organization in the United States) and to the Sigma Xi Society (the Scientific Research Organizations of North America).

She has also been chosen as a 2012-2013 Fulbright Award winner. She will be doing cardiovascular research at The Center for Gender Medicine at The Karolinska Institute in Stockholm Sweden before attending Medical School.

She is the daughter of Dr. Kenneth and Dr. Diane Wieland of Lansdale.

Thursday, May 24, 2012

Montco Bar launches diversity internship program

Norristown, PA - On June 4, 2012, the Montgomery Bar Association’s (MBA) Diversity Committee will launch its fourth annual Summer 1L Internship Program, which provides paid internships to first year law students of diverse backgrounds.
Participation and interest in the program has grown steadily from year to year.  This summer, ten highly qualified students will be placed with law offices throughout Montgomery County.  The program runs for eight weeks with each student receiving a stipend of $500 per week, paid for by the respective law office.  In 2011, the MBA awarded a $1,000 scholarship to each of the participating interns.
Throughout the internship, the Diversity Committee sponsors a weekly event with a speaker.  This year’s speakers will be: MBA President Donald J. Martin, Esq., Superior Court Judge Susan Peikes Gantman, Court of Common Pleas Judges Cheryl Austin and Garrett Page, District Attorney Risa Vetri Ferman and Public Defender Keir Bradford-Grey.
The Summer 1L Internship Program sprang from an effort from the MBA to increase diversity throughout the Montgomery County legal community.  The MBA partners with the Philadelphia Diversity Law Group in locating students to participate in the program.  This year, the following firms will be participating in the Program:  Flamm Walton, PC, Fox Rothschild, LLP, High Swartz LLP, Kane, Pugh, Knoell, Troy & Kramer LLP, Miller, Turetsky, Rule & Mclennan, Nelson Levine de Luca & Hamilton, Portnoff Law Associates, Ltd., Snyder & Verbeke, Weber Gallagher Simpson Stapleton Fires & Newby LLP and Wisler Pearlstine LLP.
The Diversity Committee is currently chaired by Mohammad Ghiasuddin, Esq. with Carolyn R. Mirabile, Esq.  serving as Vice Chair and Wendy G. Rothstein, Esq. serving as Chair of the 1L Summer Program.
For additional information regarding the summer 1L Program contact Wendy Rothstein at 610-397-6510 or Jim Mathias at the Montgomery County Bar Association at 610-279-9660.

Wednesday, May 23, 2012

Locals among MCCC students named to Who's Who

MCCC Students Named to Who’s Who Among American Junior Colleges
 Blue Bell/Pottstown,  —Sixty-seven students from Montgomery County Community College’s Class of 2012 were named to Who’s Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges. To qualify for Who’s Who, students must have graduated during the 2011-2012 academic year with agrade point average of at least 2.75 and must be nominated by a member of MCCC’s faculty or staff.
The 2012 Who’s Who students are listed below by area of residence:
Abington: Mary Ann McPaul
Bridgeport: Arthur Mongrande
Bryn Mawr: Rebecca McKendrick
Chester Springs: Billie Wagner
Coatesville: Alyssa Balun, Melinda Henderson
Conshohocken: Mohammed Mohammed
Eagleville: Candice Doherty
East Norriton: Hilary Sbei, Karen Wagler
Gilbertsville: Erica Wilson
Glenside: Christine Chiodo
Harleysville: Valerie Ferrin, Mattie Gehman, Jacquelin Howsare, Sarah Munson, Kathleen Schillinger
Hatboro: Brian Jerardi, Marianne Shaeffer, Nicholas Yanoshak
Hatfield: Jenna Rosenberger
Horsham: Kevin Ciccone, Scott Fida, Lisa Furry
King of Prussia: Deanna Kim
Lansdale: James Brown, Melissa Gallagher, Teresa Harris, Joanna Kohlbus, Rachel Lacoff, Scott Sampson, Kayla Sheely, Kristin York
Levittown: Andrew Stegena
Norristown: Gina Nash, Linda Watson
North Hills: Scott Alcott
North Wales: Joseph Daniels, Lindsay Jordan
Pennsburg: Dean Haas Jr., Catherine Mealing
Perkiomenville: Allison Lavella
Plymouth Meeting: Kim Calhoun, Kelly McCarty
Pottstown: Dominique Burks, Brian Gallie, Alysa Murray, Stephanie Muse, Amanda Nelson, Tessa Piepmeyer, John Roddenberry, Nicole Weising, Karen Willman
Reading: Emily Minotto
Red Hill: Mary Lemon
Royersford: Jennifer Callahan, Charles Plaugher
Schwenksville: Marjorie Kelley
Souderton: Norman Detweiler
Telford: Dorothy Collison
Tylersport: Tammy Matczak
West Norriton: Barbra Bateman
Willow Grove: Molly Barrett, John Cirillo, Barbara Lederman
Wyndmoor: Corinne Angelilli
Wynnewood: Rachel Herman